Twitter icon
Facebook icon
YouTube icon

Congressman Stephen Fincher

Representing the 8th District of TENNESSEE

Fincher Announces Military Academy Nominations

Dec 20, 2011
Press Release

Fincher Announces Military Academy Nominations

13 high school seniors have been recommended from West Tennessee

Washington, DC – Today, U.S. Representative Stephen Fincher (R-Frog Jump), announced military academy nominations for the U.S. Service Academies. Candidates must be from the 8th district of Tennessee and are chosen based on academic ranking. Candidates will now have to be interviewed by the academy he or she is applying to and pass a physical and medical exam to be considered for an appointment.

There are four U.S. Service academies that require Congressional nomination: the U.S. Military Academy, the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. These institutions prepare college-age Americans to be officers in the U.S. armed services. After graduation, service academy graduates are commissioned as officers in the active or reserve components of the military or merchant marine for a minimum of five years. By late April, the Academies will have offered the majority of appointments.

“The dedication to their country that these young men and women show by volunteering to join the U.S. military is very noble. I am proud to recommend all of these young Tennesseans, and I wish them all the best in their future endeavors.”

Two of the nominees have received letters of assurance, which means they are guaranteed an offer of an appointment after all the admission requirements are complete.  Jackson Lay of Dyersburg and Kevin Jackson of Jackson have received letters of assurance. Jacob Tyer of Dickson received a Presidential Nomination and has already been appointed to the West Point Military Academy.

Air Force Academy:

  1.  Michael Coultis-  Milan, TN
  2. Caleb Dills- Troy, TN
  3. Rachel Duff- Dickson, TN
  4. Alan Vaillencourt-Palmyra, TN
  5. Kevin Jackson- Letter of Assurance-Jackson, TN

Naval Academy

  1. Robert Gill- Clarksville, TN
  2. Amber Lee- Memphis, TN
  3. Bryan Neely-Clarksville, TN
  4. Paul Raper- Jackson, TN
  5. Amber Taylor- Brighton, TN

West Point

  1. Timothy Naifeh- Tiptonville, TN
  2. Jacob Tyer-Dickson, TN (Received Presidential Appointment)
  3. Jackson Lay- Letter of Assurance- Dyersburg, TN